I woke up hungry this morning, which I don’t usually do because I hate waking up hungry so I make sure to stuff my face before bed. I think my great aversion to waking up with a growling belly comes from two pregnancies where that is absolutely NOT allowed, unless I would like to try to hold my vomit in long enough for the pregnant morning pee (you know, the one where you have to pee SO BAD). Because throwing up into the bathtub while you sit on the toilet is probably the least most glamorous thing EVER, unless of course you are a rock star and can pull it off because, heh, you are a ROCK STAR, baby. That’s just how it’s done. Anyway, I’m completely off the subject here. I woke up hungry and still tired because I did end up getting that much-wanted nap yesterday, so when Andrew got up to leave for work, I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep for awhile. Though I was tired, I decided to do something completely uncharacteristic of me and actually cook something for breakfast. I made pancakes, smothered them in butter and syrup, and enjoyed them without thinking pancakes = widening ass. If you can’t do these things when you’re super pregnant, when can you? Never. So, I indulged. Alaina, on the other hand, had a chocolate chip pancake, which she declared to be both “nummy” and “gud”. Score. Since there is only the two of us and I had plenty of extra batter, I made a bunch of toddler-sized pancakes, put them in baggies two-by-two, and popped them in the fridge. Voila, snack or breakfast for the munchkin when I’m feeling more like my usual lazy pregnant self. Now I’m going to clean up my breakfast mess and start dinner, so there’s less work for me to do later when I’ll be more tired. I’m trying a new meatloaf recipe (with ground turkey instead of beef), and then I think I may make the Gooey Butter Cake that Linda suggested, because I just happen to have all the ingredients on-hand and it sounds too delicious to resist.

Who are you, you crazy cooking, cleaning woman? I think Andrew working late every day this week is having some sort of profound, bizarre effect on me.

